Deadline.

So as the title may highlight I have a deadline approaching, my activist deadline in fact. In all honesty this is the one I have been dreading the most. Don’t get me wrong it’s not that I hate what we are doing but this deadline requires a presentation and I have come to the belief that I am shit at presentations.

microphoneBeringPost(1)

So all ready I am building it up more than I should, It’s just every presentation I have completed I seem to always come away from it a little angry, angry because I had missed vital parts off or I got too nervous and rushed it. I really have to work on these skills as it would be a shame to  complete all the hard work and research for my presentation to just let me down.

Not only is this worrying me but I have or more so had a major worry, this is the main focus of my post.

Was my topic actually an activist topic? I have been working with Chris for editing and montage so this has meant we have been spending more time together then we normally would. So I have gotten to know him a little more and vice versa, I started discussing my activist topic with him and told him that I was unsure about the whole thing.

He asked me what it was based on and I replied celebrity culture, what I got after was a relief. A bombardment of everything he hated about celebrity culture or more so our ‘x-factor’ generation. He ranted and raved about what needed to change. This was excellent but I continued to ask him if he thought it was a series case.

I told him what I already touched upon, consumerism, bullying, degrading both male and female and being hypnotized into thinking a. This is good TV and b. create false problems when there are other ones that are 7 times more important.

Bully1alamy_2225842b images

He told me about one more possible outcome, the education system.

He explained how his girlfriend worked in a private company that went from school to school showing useful tips when attacking revision, he revealed that she didn’t just go to public school but private schools as well. He said that when in conversation with her once she was amazed or more so appalled by the attitude of the children. I don’t think in general as we all know kids are punks anyway, but more so their attitude to their future.

A lot of them wanted to be famous, half of them wanted to be a footballer or singer, and the other half just wanted to be famous, just in general. Not for any academic or heroic deed, they just want what they preserve as a ‘perfect’ lifestyle.

The whole idea of this makes me shudder in my very skin, if we are now losing the ambition of the next generation then in time thought provoking ideas, art and general brilliance will decrease more and more, unemployment will rise because sweeping the streets, becoming a lawyer or working in a nursery doesn’t get you air time.

While this is all going on we will be looking around for TV land to help us, maybe the ‘famous’ people will group together and start a charity to help the next generation. This wont happen however because as it is getting easier and easier to become what society preserves as famous, they will be in just the same sinking boat as us, because that’s all they simply are, us.

On a side note I feel the need to explain that I’m all for chasing your dreams, if you want to be a footballer be a footballer. Put in the hours, train every day. Eat, sleep and breathe football. Don’t however sit on your ass and expect it all to just be handed on a fancy plate, because it ain’t gonna happen!

Leave a comment