Foley – Creating Speed and Mass

Back to the practical side now, I really wanted to try to create all of the sounds myself for A Journey To Paradise the reason being I can’t help but feel I cheated if I did not. Although this was a great idea, this was my first time ever trying to complete the sounds myself. Andrew showed me where the foley would be needed and I felt a little worried.

The clips I was given contained ships, both big and small, moving at different speeds. (I have already touched upon location and the stasis module, this will only touch upon spacecraft). Looking at each clip I knew I would have to try to create sounds that belonged to these particular ships, I asked Andrew on how they flied, manoeuvred and he gave me a couple of notes and ideas.

It seemed that the ships were controlled by some sort of energy, thruster into the air, Andrew was very clear however that he didn’t want fire. Setting out I looked for anything that sounded like energy but not fire based. I stumbled across the Hoover which maintained my main staple of foley throughout the film. Looking at the structure of the Hoover I found several different sounds coming from different areas. The funnel was my main use where I stuffed it full of items to get several different frequencies, both low and high.

Placing my fingers over the top of the funnel allowed my fingers to bounce quickly against the plastic, producing a somewhat of a chugging noise. This was later used for the engine blowing off. The back vent of the Hoover was used to create the mother ship sound, once turning of the Hoover it produced a unique shutting down sound which worked better than any of the filters found on Audition.

As well as the Hoover I used several other items, the kettle bubbling produced a perfect low rumble noise which went great over both the mother ship and the drop ship. Buttons on the microwave produced high-pitched sounds that I could use sparingly in the right areas.

For the rest of the sounds I used sine waves, here I would manipulate them in Audition to try to gather the sounds I needed, these would range from low rumble noises, to the sound of the engine blowing out into the sky.

Foley was a long and hard road and I somewhat feel a little cheated by how many words I have used to explain my work, but the case is this. When I only had a few days (as well as working on my own film) trying to be record foley and my reasonings, findings and sounds was a little taxing.

However I am happy that I can hear each significant sound on each part, the drop ship had a collection of 9 different sounds, where the mother ship had 5. Each foley sound took around an hour to make. All in which was shown on-screen for roughly 15 seconds.

Was it worth it. Hell yeah!

Leave a Reply

